Everything happens for a reason.

Whether or not you agree with me, I truly believe that everything does happen for a reason.

I know death isn’t easy, losing someone you thought was your soul mate and trust me when I say this — I don’t believe that anyone should have to go through what cancer patients do. I wish it didn’t exist, I really do.

From the moment we are born, the clock begins to tick. Life is rough. Adulting sucks. We spend all this time as a child wanting to grow up faster. Then as an adult, we repeat our 21st birthday every birthday after we turn 30… I wish there was a secret to it all, but there isn’t.

 Some people come in your life as blessings, others come in your life as lessons.

We’ve all experienced a time where someone who was apart of our lives for years or someone we felt as if we had such a connection that there was no way we wouldn’t be in each other’s lives forever…and POOF – one day you never talk again. It’s weird, isn’t it? In those moments when it first happens, you ask yourself ‘What the hell happened?’ Sometimes, it’s simple. You went your separate ways and drifted apart and neither of you made much of an effort to save it. Or you got into a huge fight and you didn’t realize exactly how different you were so it was time to just let it go. And then there are times where it just happens in the blink of an eye.. a couple years down the road you come across their picture in your Timehop or their Facebook page. You reminisce on the memories and you smile, laugh, cry and that’s that. It’s normal. We all do it.

Years later, you finally start to realize the underlying reason why you’re either still friends or you’re not at all. This is why the perfect quote comes to mind, ‘Some people come in your life as blessings, others come in your life as lessons.I am a very outgoing, outspoken, loud individual. I was a cheerleader from the age of 2 until the age of 20. I was involved in many sports such as softball, volleyball, track (sprints, none of that long distance crap) and flag football. Therefore, I was always around people and I was always making friends or making frenemies. In the moments leading up to a friendship ending, you don’t quite understand why until years later (or you do because they’re completely crazy and you couldn’t get away faster) and then it all just clicks. It immediately makes sense in your head why those certain individuals never made it to your adult years. After high school, you go your separate ways, you lose touch with basically everyone.. But there are some that make it through college together. I have been blessed with wonderful friendships with the most fantastic human beings throughout my life and they have taught me some wonderful life lessons and they have been the world’s biggest blessings. I am thankful to each and everyone person that has come into my life whether they are still here or not because they have shaped me into the person I am. Each and every person has come into my life for a purpose whether it be at a good time or a very bad one and they have benefited me in the greatest way. I hope that at least a few of them can say the same for me.

All in all, some of life’s greatest moments are the unexpected ones. The ones you never thought you wanted or needed. Something that steers you way off the course you intended to take.. It’s all happening for a reason. It all leads up to something spectacular.. it just may take a little more time and if you’re like me, I’m suuuuuper impatient so I tend to go a little mad. Oops!

Like Carrie Underwood said in her song ‘Good in Goodbye’:

As bad as it was, as bad as it hurt
I thank God I didn’t get what I thought that I deserved
Sometimes life leads you down a different road
When you’re holding on to someone that you gotta let go
Someday you’ll see the reason why
Sometimes, yeah, sometimes, there’s good in goodbye

So yeah, everything happens for a reason. Simply put: There is good in goodbye.

 

 

 

-Samantha

2 thoughts on “Everything happens for a reason.

Leave a Reply

